Gluten Free alcohol guide

To drink or not to drink...

What alcohols are safe to drink for Coeliacs? Here's an easy guide to help you through.

Gluten Free:

  • Cider
  • Wine
  • Sherry
  • Spirits
  • Port
  • Liqueurs

Even when a gluten containing ingredient is used, all spirits are distilled during the manufacturing process and this process removes any trace of gluten. Therefore, all spirit drinks (including malt whisky which is made from barley) are safe for people with coeliac disease. -Coeliac UK Alcohol Blog

Avoid:

  • Beer
  • Lagers
  • Stouts
  • Ales

Unless it is a specific Gluten Free option- always check the label!

If it is a new flavour or you are unsure, double check the label to be safe.

How much?

Men and women are advised not to regularly drink more than 14 units a week.

14 units is equivalent to:

6 pints of gluten free beer, 6 glasses of wine, 14 single small shots of spirits.

If you do choose to drink as much as 14 units per week, try to spread it out evenly over the week, so as not to overwhelm your body. Try to have some days a week where you don’t drink any alcohol and avoid binge drinking.

If you are ever in doubt or unsure, check the label, or ask someone that will know. This is just a general guide.

Gluten Free alcohol information from Coeliac UK https://www.coeliac.org.uk/information-and-support/your-gluten-free-hub/home-of-gluten-free-recipes/healthy-eating/alcohol/?&&type=rfst&set=true#cookie-widget

 


Older Post


Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published